It seems that these rip of artists are actually targeting people in their own countries. Peter of Huttriver8, who I know lives in New Zealand, sent me this particular one. They’re obviously hoping that the recipient panics and clicks that link which will take them to as site that looks like real but is only there to get their details. It’s an obvious phishing exercise and you shouldn’t fall for it.
I’ve left the link active so that you can hover over it with your mouse, don’t click it whatever you do, just so you can see the link isn’t taking you to the PayPal site at all.
I'd love a beer, & that's no bull!From: service@paypal.co.nz
Subject: Notice!
Date: Thu, 11 Mar 2010 09:44:17 -0700We recorded a payment request from “Live Strip Chat Camera Sexy Girls -www.imlive.com – Girls Show”
to enable the charge of $74.33 on your PayPal account. Because the order was made from an european internet address,
we put an Exception Payment on transaction motivated by our Geographical Tracking System.THE PAYMENT IS PENDING FOR THE MOMENT .
If you made this transaction or if you just authorize this payment, please ignore or remove this email message.
The transaction will be shown on your monthly statement as “Live Strip Chat Camera Sexy Girls”.
If you didn’t make this payment and would like to decline the $74.33 billing to your card,
please follow the link below to cancel the payment : Cancel this paymentThank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team
![Reblog this post [with Zemanta]](http://img.zemanta.com/reblog_e.png?x-id=7c77dfa3-7fbe-4cbc-b754-bc88b587b52b)




{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }
People need to stop falling for these things. Paypal never tells anyone stuff like this, and if people pay attention they’ll realize that.
Mitch´s last blog ..What Will You Go Out Of Your Way To Do For Your Blog?
Reply To This Comment
BS Artist reply on March 15th, 2010:
There’s a lot of newbies out there Mitch, and I reckon there are more born every day. These are the people that fall for these phishing scams. Fortunately some of the check on the Internet first and some of those land on this blog.
I reckon I’ve saved a few people since this blog went live and that makes it all worth while.
Reply To This Comment
peter petterson reply on March 16th, 2010:
You are right about this, Mitch. Thats why I sent it to Sire so other people get to learn about it, and also that no genuine site asks for your personal details such as name and password.
Peter
peter petterson´s last blog ..The Australian NRL rugby league competition starts thie weekend…
Reply To This Comment